We took a tram to Vondelpark in the morning. Yay! a new form of transport to add to our list of different forms. We went there for a wander and look at the scenery. It’s a nice park. I remember years ago when I went over for my brothers 50th, I wandered through early morning and you could smell the drugs in the air. Nothing this time but there were a lot of police driving around the wide avenues of the park.

We sat down for a bit and watched the bikes going by, the almost crashes and the people. It was a beautiful sunny day, albeit cold. MyraJean is looking to get some collection of people and their bikes in a post sometime.

We then wandered over to Jordaan. It’s supposed to be a pretty area. I’m sure it is but I suspect we’ve been to many pretty areas and it just looked the same to me.

Time to go to the Van Gogh Museum.

What can I say. I’m not an art fan really. I don’t get that excited and seeing a bunch of flowers in a pot.

But this was different. I was very impressed at the artistry. The paintings were stunning. Perhaps it was the way the display had been laid out, as a timeline. Showing his growth, his style changes etc.

Then a couple of drinks and off to the red light district to check it out. Which we did. I’d been there in the daytime before but never at night. It was interesting and perhaps it’s worth experiencing at least once but not really my scene.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started